EYFS Curriculum

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Early Years Foundation Stage(EYFS) is the time in your child’s life from birth to the age of 5. From the moment your child is born they are ready to learn about the world around them using their sight, smell, taste, hearing, movement and touch.

Children learn most effectively through play and the Characteristics of Effective Learning, these include the following areas.

Playing and Exploring the world around them by:-

  • Finding out and exploring
  • Playing with what they know
  • Being willing to 'have a go'

Active Learning through:-

  • Being involved and concentrating
  • Keeping trying
  • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do

Creating and Thinking Critically by:-

  • Having their own ideas
  • Making links
  • Choosing ways to do things

Every child is unique and has different needs but they learn best where they develop positive relationships in an engaging environment. Each family is different and reflects individual communities and cultures and we see this as a real strength. At Brearley nursery school we promote British values whilst celebrating the diversity within our communities.

The 3 prime areas are important and as children develop these skills, it helps them in other areas of learning. They include:-

Personal, Social and Emotional

Development, Communication and Language

Physical Development

The 4 specific areas of learning include essential skills and knowledge for children to take part in the world around them. They include:-



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning experiences. Each term our staff will use the EYFS to plan a wide range of play and first hand experiences to meet your child’s unique needs, using projects based on the children’s questions and interests.

A School Life Website
School Life iOS Mobile Application
School Life Android Mobile Application